Dozo – Fine Modern Japanese Dining

I must admit I got really excited when my mother decided to go to Dozo to celebrate both her birthday as well as mother’s day. It has been nearly 3 and a half years since I last came here, the last time as celebration for my results. In the days leading up to this meal, I could picture myself digging into the food I so vividly remember and often find myself salivating at this juncture. I figured, since Mathew wrote an article about his Mother’s Day’s Dinner, why not write one about my lunch? That’s a win for both parties, cause I introduce you to this restaurant and in doing so, get to taste the delicious food.

The entrance of the restaurant. It might not look much, but the food sure packs a punch.

Interior of the restaurant.

From the title, you can gather that with the word ‘fine’, it bounds to mean that there are multiple courses. Dozo offers up to 7 courses, Starter, Cold Dish, Side Dish, Soup, Main Course, Dessert and Drinks. On lunch though, you can opt for a 6 course meal which costs cheaper. For this special occasion, Dozo only served the 7 course meal but I got to say, this is pretty worth the money.

For the starter dish, you are treated to a lovely assorted platter, which comprises of salmon, scallop and foie gras. The salmon is nice, a little salty but absolutely fresh. The mint at the bottom refreshes the taste as well and adds to the overall flavor of the dish. Coupled with the cream which gives it a sweet touch, this dish is simply a delight. I have always been a fan of scallops and this dish simply reinforces my liking. The scallop is soft and the asparagus gives the dish a slight crunch. The presentation is wonderful as well, with a slight foam on the top. The foie gras is wonderful and easy on the taste buds. It was soft and the sauce tasted like something out of a “Peking Duck Sauce” (comment by my sister) The only disappointment I had with the dish would be the bread. It was not as crispy as I thought it would be and it brought the dish slightly down. Nonetheless, the dish was wonderful on the whole.

Starter :Roasted Foie Gras with Mirin Reduction on top of Bread, Seared Hokkaido Scallops with Yuzu Foam and Asparagus and Smoked Salmon with Crème Fresh.

Next up, was the cold dish.

I ordered the Sashimi for this course and I certainly do not regret my decision. The sashimi here was really exceptional, it was smooth and delicious when coupled with a slight touch of wasabi (no it does not spoil the taste). The Amaebi (sweet shrimp) was simply awesome!

Cold Dish:  Platter of Air Flown Seasonal Sashimi

After wolfing down the sashimi, the side dish was next in line.

Escargots have always been one of my favourite dishes and this dish does not disappoint. The escargot on the side is beautiful and the three topped with Yuzu butter and cheese is wonderful as well. The only upset would be there are only 4 escargots. Haha! 🙂

Side Dish: Gratinated Escargots topped with Yuzu Butter

When the soup arrived, I must admit that I enjoyed the presentation of the dish, although the serving size got me a little shocked. (in a not so good way)

 The presentation is simplicity as its finest. With a light touch of foam, it has transformed an ordinary crab bisque into one with amazing texture. The soup appears heavy but on consumption, it is actually very light. The soups here might not be to an average person’s liking as it is more of an acquired taste. I must say that I felt the soup was just a so-so, especially with the standard the other dishes set and the price you are paying.

Soup: Crab Bisque Cappuccino Style

After being treated to small nibbles for the past few dish, the main course finally arrived.

The presentation of this dish always fascinates me everytime I order it. (All my trips so far. [4 including this]) Instead of the standard hot plate, you are treated to a hot rock. The level at which the beef is to be cooked is decided by you. The rarer you want it to be, the shorter you leave it on the hot rock and likewise for the well done side. I have always tried to see what the Pu-Ye does but as much as it claims to give a nice flavour/aroma, I believe you can do away with it. I only used it so as to not overcook my beef. :p The tempura garnish is not only visually appealing, it is yummy as well. I would normally leave it to the last (though not without snacking on it now and then), as I would be using it to fan my beef at the start.

Main Course: Beef Tenderloin on Pu-Ye and Granite Hot Stone

The dessert came next and believe me, at this point, I felt hungry after seeing it.

There is a reason why on all my past trips, I have always chose this as my dessert. You simply can’t go wrong with chocolate cake and believe me when I say this has got to be the highlight of every Dozo meal. The outer layer is crisp and when you bite/cut into it, the hot gooey molten chocolate just comes oozing all out. All haters of chocolate would come to love it after tasting this dish. With the vanilla ice-cream on the side to complement the hot/cold aspects of this dish, it has made this into a true dessert.

Dessert: Dozo’s Freshly Baked Warm Chocolate Cake with Ice Cream

 

 ^ I really did enjoy the dish.

Lastly, to cool down the entire meal was the drink.

 The refresher was amazing and it was sweet and cold (Mix of apple, passion fruit and mint). I enjoyed this drink and with it, was a complete hearty meal fit for a king.

Drink: Green Apple Mocktail

With that, my meal was complete and so was my afternoon.

Food (Taste & Texture): 8.5/10

Presentation: 9/10

Ambience: 7.5/10

Service: 9/10

Overall: 8.5/10

Recommend to a friend: Yes. Though it is important to note the price of the courses, so the words as Jack puts it “Hell YES” isn’t entirely appropriate as you will soon run out of money if you come here too often.

6 Course Set: $39.80++ (only for lunch)

7 Course Set: $59.80++

Address: 491 River Valley Road, #02-02/03 Valley point Shopping Centre, S 248371

Reservation: +65 6838 6966

Opening Hours:

Lunch 11:30am to 2:30pm (last order) daily

Dinner 5:30pm to 10:00pm (last order 9:30pm) daily

For more information, go to http://www.dozo.com.sg/index.html

 Written By: Yi Yong

